Weekly Rant: Nothing’s Going On!

Since Fridays are rather weak days for people stopping by the blog, as well as my inability to post most weekends, I’m deciding to move my ‘Weekly Rant’ section to Wednesdays. With that being said, late July is maybe the worst part of the year for hockey news.

And as free agency has slowed to standstill, there is not much to talk about. Mats Sundin should announce his decision by Friday, but that situation has been drawn out so long that I barely even care anymore.

Also, as my last rant talked about, the Pirates traded Xavier Nady and Damaso Marte to the Yankees for several prospects. Whatever, it was going to happen and. And as most Pirates fans have learned to do, I prepared myself to see talent leave.

Carson Palmer
Carson Palmer

Something interesting this week was Carson Palmer speaking out about his hatred toward Ohio State and its fans. I’m going to have to agree with him on that.

Being a student at Kent State University and not caring a cent about Ohio State vs. Michigan, I have found Ohio State fans to be a bit unbearable myself. There is an arrogance about them, but deservingly so.

The Buckeyes have been on top of the college football world for some time now. If Pitt was a pre-season favorite to win the BCS National Championship game I would have an arrogance about me as well.

Nevertheless, I felt the true meaning of what he said.

“It’s amazing to hear what those guys think about that university and what they think about that football program and Tressel and all the crap I gotta put up with being back there.I just can’t wait for two years from now when SC comes to the ‘Shoe and hopefully we’ll have a home game that weekend and I can go up there and watch us pound on them in their own turf.”

He continued:

“I’m really getting sick of it and I just can’t wait for this game to get here so they can come out to the Coliseum and experience LA and get an old-fashioned Pac-10 butt-whoopin’ and go back to the Big Ten.”

It would be nice to see some new teams pop up in the Top 10, which brings me to Pitt.

I’m extremely excited for this coming season, and camp opens in five days for the Panthers. I expect an eight win season, and I plan to have a preview coming in the next week or so.

Also, very soon, I will be mapping out each NHL team’s strengths and weaknesses en route to picking the standings for each division. I will start with the Southeast Division. Expect to see the first installment in the next 12 hours or less.

So that’s pretty much it. Limas Sweed is going to be nasty. Daniel Sepulveda is out for the year…tear.

Lets go Pens, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

