Weekly Rant: Olympics

So this is a hockey blog. I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, so if you haven’t…now you know! But I’m not all hockey. There are other sports in the world, and I happen to enjoy them.

And being that the largest sporting event in the world is going on, the Olympics, I have some things to say. First and foremost, Michael Phelps.

Michael Phelps
Michael Phelps

I just finished watching him win the 200m breast stroke, and I’m just in flat-out awe. With the win, Phelps has become the greatest Olympian to ever live. And we are witnessing it!

When I saw the 4X100m relay finish that shattered a world record and beat a trash talking French team, all while providing us, the viewers, with the greatest finish in all of sports all-time, I couldn’t contain myself.

Me and the friends I was watching the race with couldn’t contain ourselves in the last 50 meters. When Jason Lezak stretched to win it by a few hundredths of a second, we freaked as I’m sure so many other did across the country. It was a great moment for everyone in the United States.

Then the other night, the men’s gymnastics team ended up getting the bronze medal in the team competition. This from a group of men who lost their only Olympic experience in the Hamm brothers. Once again, another moment that made me proud to be a United States citizen.

On top of that, look at the two games that the Team USA basketball team has competed in thus far. First blowing out the Chinese, and then beating Angola without a problem, we are seeing the return to greatness of US basketball.

All of this, regardless of what the medal count is (which, while I’m typing this, is currently USA – 23, China – 21) makes me proud. We’re seeing amazing athletes do it for glory and not for money. That is what sport is all about.

Too often we are greeted with stories of NHL or NBA players having millions upon millions of dollars dangled before there eyes in attempts to lure them away from the team they are playing for (which now is reaching to all corners of the earth). The Olympics are a refreshing break from the business side of sports.

For once, if not again until the summer Olympics, enjoy watching the greatest athletes of our country compete for pride, not money.

And just as I’ve finished this post, Phelps and the US men’s 4X200m relay finished at 6:58.56, another world record. Gotta love it. Medal count…+1 for the US.

Lets Go Pens.

~Chris @ Pittsburgh Puck Talk

3 thoughts on “Weekly Rant: Olympics

Leave a Reply

